a nuisance.

quote2

Holy moly is right. Before I get to the point of this post, I want to take a minute and thank everyone for the support you have shown me.  I mean… I am shocked. I just had no idea that I would get such an amazing response from people after sharing this blog.  So many of you have sent me messages, commented, texted, and emailed me about the blog I want you to know that I ABSOLUTELY appreciated every single one.  As I mentioned,  I was super nervous about putting all my business out in the open and now I am so glad I did.  Thank you for supporting me.  Thank you for embracing my story.  Thank you for helping me use my experience to reach others.  My heart is so full.

With that it mind…  I wanted to share the next part of what my recovery was like during the last three weeks.  I can pretty much sum it up in three words: JACKSON. PRATT. DRAINS.

Contrary to what I had anticipated, I really wasn’t in a ton of pain after my surgery.  I had limited movement in my arms and I was really tired, but the pain medication I was prescribed was more than enough to help me feel pretty good.  The biggest challenge I faced following surgery was dealing with these crazy drains that had been put in during my operation.  The jackson pratt drains looked like this:

drains 5

I tried to find a real photograph, but I couldn’t find one that showed them very well…  I think this is a pretty good illustration though. When the drains are used post surgery, the long skinny end is actually inserted underneath your skin and it is stitched into place.  As your body heals,  the fluids around the surgical area get sucked into the tube and collect in the bulb.  Every few hours after surgery, the bulbs have to be emptied and the amount of fluid has to be recorded.

drain 6

Before my surgery, I had read a lot about the drains.  They seemed fairly manageable.  However, I never realized I would wake up from surgery with 6 of them!! I had thought I might have two… maybe even four, but I never anticipated having six.  SIX! I ended up having two drains on each side close to my armpit and one underneath each breast.

drains

Picture this… on both sides… with two more underneath.

Six drains were a lot to coordinate.  First of all, I couldn’t use my arms after surgery which made it super challenging to maintain and empty the drains so frequently.  Thank goodness for Super Husband and Super Sister-in-Law, both of who totally stepped up and helped me take care of the crazy things.  If you haven’t seen a surgery drain before, consider yourself lucky.  THEY ARE SO NASTY.  I still can’t believe I had people willingly help me. Here’s a picture that shows what the drains looked like…

drains2

The second thing that made the drains so difficult was the pain.  The drains themselves didn’t cause the pain… it was the stitches that the doctor used to hold the drains to my skin.  If I moved the wrong way, or if someone accidentally tugged too hard when emptying them, it felt like the drains were going to rip off a giant chunk of skin.  What also made the drains so horrible was my super sensitive skin.  I had been instructed by my surgeon to cover each drain site with neosporin  after every shower.  So, as I have always been good at following directions, I smothered each site completely with triple antibiotic ointment.  I actually really liked doing this because it made the sites feel so much better.  However, it wasn’t long until I broke out in a terrible, painful, itchy rash around each site.

035

Eeew. Just looking at this picture makes me scrunch up my nose and cringe.  Anyway… the rash continued to get worse and finally my surgeon told me…I AM ALLERGIC TO NEOSPORIN.  Go figure.  I had been making it worse the whole time by putting so much of the ointment on each time.  Obviously, I didn’t use the neosporin much after that!

The last thing that made the drains such a pain (pun totally intended) was simply coordinating the daggone things as I tried to do things around the house. Once I was able to get up and move around a bit, I felt like a Christmas tree with ornaments hanging off of me in every direction.  Originally, the hospital had sent me home with a lanyard and I safety pinned the drains to the lanyard as I moved around.  However, after a while, the weight of the drains started hurting my neck…. SO, I looked around my house and I stumbled across this beauty…

033

This jacket actually belonged to my grandmother.  Even though it was too big, I kept it after my aunt and I cleaned out her house in 2009.  I’m not sure why… but sure am glad I did!  Not only was it super comfortable and loose, but it was perfect for my drains because of a hidden secret…

034

Inside the jacket, there were large hidden pockets on each side.  These pockets were perfect for my drains.  I just put on a tank top, pulled my drains through the arm holes and then tucked them into these pockets!  By doing that, the drains couldn’t be seen on the outside and it took the pressure off of my neck.

In addition to using this jacket, I ABSOLUTELY LIVED in tank tops.  Before surgery, I went to Forever 21 and bought a ton of cute, cheap tank tops with big arm holes.  The tanks ended up working perfectly.  They were soft cotton and felt good.  They were also super cheap (I think around $3) which meant I didn’t have to worry about ruining them in the event of an accident. This actually came in handy during an “accident” that happened last week… but I will save that for another post! =)  Additionally, the tanks had super big arm holes which made it easier to put them on and take them off.

After 14 LONG days of feeling like a Christmas tree, my plastic surgeon finally removed my drains.  I was a little nervous about having them removed, but I was way more excited about having my freedom back!!  Too my surprise, having them removed really didn’t hurt.  When my surgeon pulled them out it stung a little. However, the pain was short lived and I was quickly distracted with relief and freedom (and scratching because that rash was crazy itchy!).

Eight days have passed since I had my drains removed.  The holes have closed, but you can still see the point of entry.  My rashes are fading and they don’t itch anymore.  I’ve been wondering if the drain holes are going to leave a scar.

024

Hope that picture doesn’t gross you out too much.  You can see that the drain hole is still pretty visible.  All six sites still look like that.  You can also see the left over adhesive from the bandages that I used.  I keep trying to scrub it off, but the skin around that area is still super sensitive and it hurts when I scrub really hard.  I’ve been thinking of getting something like Goo Gone to see if it would remove the adhesive more easily.  We’ll see.  I’ll figure something out and report back!

All to say… the drains are a complete nuisance.  However, considering everything else that could have gone wrong, I am more than satisfied knowing that this was my biggest challenge.  I consider myself blessed that nothing more serious happened and it totally worth it to know that I NEVER HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT BREAST CANCER AGAIN.

So, now that I’ve written a novel about JP drains, I’m going to try to go to bed.  I need to get some rest because I’m heading back to the doctor tomorrow for a reconstruction expansion! Yipee.  More on that tomorrow.

Good night.

Jayne

Standard

3 thoughts on “a nuisance.

  1. Jayne, I had one of these things after my thyroid surgery and you can barely see the scar. They are gross, but very needed. Thank you so much for sharing this information with the world. Very thoughtful and unselfish. Words c9an’t express how amazed I am at your giving nature.

Leave a Reply

