A surprise.

00dde1eb70f2243a9212f8e234e088fe

Five weeks.  I am five whole weeks post mastectomy.  I can hardly belive it.  It seems like a lifetime ago that I was dealing with drains and a stupid rash from pain medication.  It seems like forever ago that I had so much trouble getting dressed and taking care of  myself.  It seems like it has been AGES since my party on the stunning 6th floor of Baptist East when my best friend, Laura, brought a bunch of people Dairy Queen blizzards to eat while they visited with me.

Yet, here I am just five short weeks later… absolutely shocked at how beautifully my body has healed in such a short amount of time.  Sure, I still have some work to do with reconstruction. However, other than when I look in the mirror, I completely forget sometimes that I’ve recently had a major surgery.  I feel wonderful, my energy level is high, and I am hardly sore at all.

7b8dc27ddc57054cf0c61f202c69f3cd

The last few days I’ve followed my normal “weekend” routine.  You know… the routine that includes running a couple of errands, visiting with friends, catching up on house work, sleeping slightly late, taking a nap or two, and watching a few (ok… maybe a ton…) of One Tree Hill episodes.  It has been wonderful.  Mitch and I even went out to have a few pictures taken today in the hopes of using one for a Christmas card photo.

020

We had some better ones taken with a much better camera… this one was taken with my cell phone, so it’s not as good.

Anyway… I am so surprised at all the things I am able to do at this point after surgery.  I can’t workout yet and I’m not supposed to go back to work until after Thanksgiving, but it’s so much better than I thought it would be.  If you had asked me 2 months ago, I never would have imagined that I would feel like getting my picture taken 5 weeks post surgery.  I would have thought that picture-taking would require too much energy.  I definitely would have thought my body would look too weird to photograph.  At the very least, I would have thought that I would have to wear a scarf or thick sweater to camouflage what was missing.  I was totally wrong.

Even though I don’t look like my old self and I am still “in progress”, I am proud of how I look and feel right now. I feel so much better than I did before surgery. As crazy as it sounds,  I actually like the new version of “me” better.  I am stronger.  I am healthier.  I am more optimistic.   I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

4438c74448bbabaad19c40561ca0ee89

Standard

Leave a Reply

